In the Passage of our Years

meltzer_on-track

photo ‘On Track’ © Carolyn C Meltzer Photography 2017

~

Looking back I remember boyhood days

walking endless and spirited venture

Sublime in the midst of nature’s bidding and

the seeming annoyance of darkened skies

Clouds would sully in a rough and tumble of

mottled hues as a tempest brewing

My pace would hasten though whatever for

if the sky would empty the torrents would fall

~

Unaffected, I would cross over gullies and streams

through pastures to the liven of livestock grazing

Their tails switching this way and that, curiosity

fleeting as I hurriedly passed them by

Through stands of tall grass and brambleberry

under tree limbs’ canopy, low, then yielding

A wide berth of passage, a railroad spanning

nearly far as the eye could see and mind imagine

~

Stepping over the rails I straddled timber

aged and weathered by the passage of our years

An endless symmetry as time standing still and

tracks spanning centuries, trains commuting

And sixty years hence as I straddle the timbers

the memory of a boy in his youth standing by

Looking long into years that would pass between us

A timeless reminder of rails passing through

~

© Don MacIver 2017; All Rights Reserved

~

STUNNING VISUALS IN VERSE

~

CC Meltzer Photography

© Carolyn C. Meltzer, CC Meltzer Photography

Atlanta, Georgia, USA

~

In this, a continuing series, I am honored and excited to share a collaborative undertaking with gifted Atlanta, Georgia photographer Carolyn C. Meltzer titled ‘Stunning Visuals In Verse’ pairing my own original written verse through the inspiration of Carolyn’s striking photographic images. One of the most fundamental means to enhance poetry’s reader experience is through the pairing of stunning photographic images in a union of compelling and inspired perceptions that only the individual reader can fully embrace.

Discover Carolyn’s extraordinary gift for capturing breathtaking visuals of life and the remarkable beauty of our natural surroundings. I truly felt compelled to present her breathtaking images alongside my poetic verse in a unified representation of creative arts endeavor embracing the extraordinary elements of nature that touch our heart, mind and soul.

To my readers I implore that you visit the website of Carolyn C. Meltzer, linked beneath the accompanying photo or by clicking the image itself, to explore and experience the beauty and wonderment of her subjects through an accomplished camera lens. Share in the emotions and spirit of creative and artistic collaboration through visuals in verse.

Care for and protect our natural environment…our very existence depends on it.

2 thoughts on “In the Passage of our Years

    1. Thank you John! So glad this resonates for you. As I wrote this piece I was taken back to my youth riding the transcontinental train across Canada from the Toronto area to the west coast where we have had family and relatives for decades. We would all eventually live on the west coast, a dream destination until my late twenties. Mom hated flying so she and my sister and I would take the train and dad would catch up with us by flying out to coincide with his business cycle and time off to be with family.

      I used to hurry up to the dome car where I would spend my waking hours staring out the glass canopy high above the tracks where I could take in the lakes, rivers, mountains and wildlife while listening to travelers from near and far speak of their adventures to our part of the world. I would stare at the rail tracks stretching out of sight beyond the front of the three mile long train and trail around twists and bends, disappearing into tunnels growing ever smaller with distance behind us. The clacking of the the train’s ‘wheels’ and gentle rock of the cars for endless miles was as exciting as the sharp shrill of the whistle blowing and the conductor’s holler of “all aboard” as time drew near to disembark for another leg of the journey. Mom would while away some of the hours amusing us with stories of her own childhood while was to us somewhat less enamoring than the view outside our small private quarter; we remained respectfully attentive all the same.

      Through this writing I had repeated thoughts relating to the countless timber cross ties to our years passing us by just as surely as the miles from point A to point B. I feel hugely reminiscent these days, an age thing I expect but pleasantly so. Those days riding the rails were my first and lasting connection with the wondrous beauty of our land, lakes, rivers, mountains and wildlife…and ultimately our connection with the sea which would be our final stop at the end of the line.

      Warmest regards to you John.

      Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

