Hay Bales Back Home; poetry, prose

picture of hay bales in expansive hay field, cloudy sky

photo c/o Google Images

~

Sometimes in salient wander I dream

Of hot summer days and sultry afternoons

Muggy, oppressive body-soaked heat where

Moistened hair and clothes would cling to clammy

Skin irritated with a prickly sting

Darkened clouds heavy on pageantry blue

Hay bales in symmetry on fields back home

Alone in the silence of it all, atoned

~

Fresh cut hay in all its earthy pungence

Short stalk bristling stiffly underfoot

Bales pimple rolling hillsides now and then

A passing crow stalking, angered chatter

Occasional whispers of wind in shallow

Gusts of desultory exclamation

Would it rain today, rather unlikely

Relief, still one is hopeful of its blessing

~

In the silence of the acreage I would

Sit upon the earth in resplendent reverence

My breathing slow and shallow as though waiting

For the coming of life’s meaning, lest my purpose

A sobriety of singular being

At peace within and serenity without

For amidst the lineage of fodder

Conclusive answers beg my query

~

© Don MacIver, Poet 2015; All Rights Reserved

Poetic Soul © 2015

Author’s Publications © 2015

3 thoughts on “Hay Bales Back Home; poetry, prose

    1. Thank you Lauren. My apologies for the time lapsed since your comment (internet issues to deal with). I have always looked back on my youth with great fondness. Life in the countryside was a powerful connection with nature for me and perhaps early beginnings of impressions that would stay with me into my writing years. Nature continues to be a tremendous passion for me and also a critical influence on my writing. I feel a great sense of passion for the protection of our natural landscape, wildlife and environment and although I have not engaged in an activist way I deliver what I hope is a compelling message to my readers. This piece had a special significance to me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No worries, at all, Don! I’m slowing down with blogging because my class started and now I’m doing a lot of writing and reading. So I’m not sure where my blog falls into my work/school schedule right now…anyway, love this and I feel the same way about nature, even more so as I’ve grown older…take care 🙂

        Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

