Shivery Timbers; poetry by Don MacIver

picture of snowy winter scene, country

photo c/o Morguefile.com

Muted in shades of winter’s pallor

Soft, without texture as water colours

Morning’s air cast heavy, sparrows fly

In darting meander on wings of silent

Passage on winds of offshore, bitter

Tree limbs naked lean shivery timbers

My breath in trailing clouds would linger

Footstep impressions, muted Decembers

© Don MacIver 2015; All Rights Reserved

Poetry & Verse © 2015

LastingImpressionsEditing © 2015

Author’s Publications

4 thoughts on “Shivery Timbers; poetry by Don MacIver

    1. Thank you John! I had a very early start this morning and struggled somewhat to focus on this one. Your thoughts on its length mirrored my own as I contemplated a second verse yet I was concerned that in doing so the piece may have sounded stilted. Working from the visual there really was no need for more and the reader can take their thoughts and interpretations as they will. I thought the title was a little weak but given my foggy state of mind this morning I let it stand!

      Liked by 1 person

Please Share Your Thoughts

