Finding Our Way; prose about purpose, existence

photo of man in canoe on misty lake, finding purpose

photo c/o Google Search

Inspired by Richard A. Cross

Ever wonder upon the human condition

Our insatiable thirst, unanswered questions

We rise as the daylight, slow and progressive

Thoughts clouded as mist on an autumn lake

As we ponder our journey in hours waiting

Gentle we drift on waters of calm

Our footsteps as guidance of paddle’s draw

And ripples of notion dancing on air

 

From birth our eyes open, responsiveness

So many questions forever would follow

Why we are born to a complex world

Our lives in the measure of centenary

Souls of longevity were we blessed

With health and good spirit, purposeful

Engagement in living and sound of mind

A resolute vision, a presence, our way

  

We look to the heavens, soul searching becomes

A birthright obsession, raison d’etre

Answers may come in the whisper of winds

As contentment abides, our purpose affirmed

Reassurance gives way to our earthly reason

In clarity glistens awakening

Our resolute nurture, attainable dreams

Bid answer our calling, our passage begins

We are what we imagine. Our very existence consists in our imagination of ourselves. The greatest tragedy that can befall us is to go unimagined. —N. Scott Momaday

 

 

© Don MacIver 2014; All Rights Reserved

Poetry & Verse © 2014

LastingImpressionsEditing © 2014

Author’s Publications

14 thoughts on “Finding Our Way; prose about purpose, existence

  1. What a wonderful view on life and the world around us, that you share here. I know the future is not a primrose lined path, but it never hurts to take notice of them as we move along. From this, I gather, moving along is not where your mind and heart set lie, but rather, you are all about moving forward.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would have thought when I was young…that I would find a point in my life where change would no longer even be a fleeting thought. How wrong I was as after many decades life is like a whirlwind on a salty sea. ajm

    Like

    1. Thank you Ann! I felt the very same yet I have come to believe strongly the past couple of years that we are all here on this earth for a purpose and it would seem that for those of us who go through dramatic changes either personally or professionally there is indeed purpose and reason for whatever transpires. After fourteen years of writing and publishing my work I finally decided it was time to pursue my passion for writing from a new perspective and on a professional level. It feels right and though I am only seven months into my new business venture I am truly optimistic about the new direction I am embarking on.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You’ve covered our condition well, Don, but more than that you’ve left room for our improvement, our refinement into what i believe we were meant to be – truly caring and compassionate beings.
    Thank You for this sharing
    Ever
    john

    Like

    1. I’m touched that you found worth in this writing John. As humans we are less than perfect and we are certainly perfectly capable of being caring and compassionate. We become distracted along this journey caught up in life and everything it blesses and throws our way. I have come to a stage in my life where making a worthy difference in this world is critically important to me. Becoming ‘selfless’, at least in measured ways if not absolute, seems a worthy intention and one to explore further before I leave this earth. If I can indeed make a difference for even a few souls in our existence I will have accomplished much in my own heart and mind.

      Liked by 1 person

Please Share Your Thoughts

