photo Break in the Clouds by Carolyn C. Meltzer, Atlanta photographer

Empyrean Dreams; an ethereal prose

photo Break in the Clouds by Carolyn C. Meltzer, Atlanta photographer

‘Break in the Clouds’

photo © Carolyn C. Meltzer Photography

STUNNING VISUALS IN VERSE

 

CC Meltzer Photography

© Carolyn C. Meltzer, CC Meltzer Photography

Atlanta, Georgia, USA

In this, a continuing series, I am honored and excited to share a collaborative undertaking with gifted Atlanta, Georgia photographer Carolyn C. Meltzer titled Stunning Visuals In Verse pairing my own original written verse through the inspiration of Carolyn’s striking photographic images. One of the most fundamental means to enhance poetry’s reader experience is through the pairing of stunning photographic images in a union of compelling and inspired perceptions that only the individual reader can fully embrace.

Discover Carolyn’s extraordinary gift for capturing breathtaking visuals of life and the remarkable beauty of our natural surroundings. I truly felt compelled to present her breathtaking images alongside my poetic verse in a unified representation of creative arts endeavor embracing the extraordinary elements of nature that touch our heart, mind and soul.

To my readers I implore that you visit the website of Carolyn C. Meltzer, linked beneath the accompanying photo or by clicking the image itself, to explore and experience the beauty and wonderment of her subjects through an accomplished camera lens. Share in the emotions and spirit of creative and artistic collaboration through visuals in verse.

Care for and protect our natural environment…our very existence depends on it.


EMPYREAN DREAMS

 

Dedicated to dear friend Ernie Cefalu, ever a true inspiration

 

‘Empyrean’ is defined as ‘the highest heaven; containing the pure element of fire; visible heavens’…

 

Oftentimes I would walk in pensive calm

Eclipsed by a sadness, patchwork quilting

Of days lost forever save the memory

Beloved lives and things that formerly

Dwelt in the midst of my earthly surrounds

Soul upon soul in the brightest of hours

Serenity lifts through His presence whole

A spirit in darkness moved toward light

 

I pause with a sense of overwhelming

As overcast shadows of blackened sky’s

Parting as revelation’s assent through

Likeness of Heaven’s gate in revealing

Sunburst, ethereal cultivation

Through clouds of silhouette contour shaping

My thoughts in longing heavenward gaze would

Elevate as divine intervention

 

My whispers heard softly light years away

Touching essence of beings o’er galaxies

Far-reaching beyond imagination

Where unknown and possibilities fly

As angels on messenger wings deliver

The beauty of days in hymnal giving

As closed, my eyes through the light in seeing

A goodness prevail as prayers in answer

 

I smile in the wake of footsteps trailing

As forward I stride, a sense of comfort

In knowing the better of my days are

At hand in the peace of understanding

The path I have chosen, future foreseen

Paves the road of my journey, guides my way

And for this I harbor inner sanctum

By the virtue of promise, life unfolding

Before leaving this site please browse the three ‘Pacific Eye & Ear‘ pages found through the page links at the top of this page. The pages showcase but a few of the many remarkable and iconic album cover art designs Ernie and his gifted team of illustrative artists designed. Ernie is a three-time Grammy Award nominee and rightly so. His gift is truly our treasure to savour always. I have been deeply honored to have written for Ernie in recent times and I have dedicated this prose to Ernie, a wonderful friend and a tremendous inspiration to me always. 

 

© Don MacIver 2014; All Rights Reserved

Poetry & Verse © 2014

LastingImpressionsEditing © 2014

Author’s Publications

9 thoughts on “Empyrean Dreams; an ethereal prose

    1. Thank you so much Richard. I thought you might enjoy this one Richard! I have treasured the collaborative engagement Carolyn Meltzer and I have experienced with this series. Amazingly, when I originally approached Carolyn it was for the sole purpose of seeking permission to have one or two of her gorgeous images accompany my poetic verse yet through our conversation it became something much greater than I had ever imagined possible. Carolyn has such a gift in her ‘stunning visuals’.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Morning Don, Thanks for the light of this, first thing this morning here in the UK – before I settle down to my musings…

    “As forward I stride, a sense of comfort

    In knowing the better of my days are

    At hand in the peace of understanding

    The path I have chosen…”

    What a great place to be – blessings to you, my friend… Regards as ever Scott http://www.scotthastie.com

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

