Kenney Meyers; On Varied Forms of Poetry

photo c/o digital-art-gallery.com
photo c/o digital-art-gallery.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Poetry comes in many forms as we all know, some relatively simple and other forms really quite complex. I find it fascinating to study the various structures of poetic verse and challenge myself to get out the building blocks and let the muse mold and shape until I have a final writing that I feel merits sharing.

Kenney Meyers has created a list of the better known of poetry forms which I have linked to here. Ken titles his post ‘The Big List of Different Types of Poems’ Many of us love the versatility of free form or free verse often applied in contemporary writing but let’s not forget how our forefathers of poetry, the masters of the discipline, applied the more traditional written verse of days gone by. Those styles or poetic forms are still widely used today.

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Kenney Meyers; On Varied Forms of Poetry

    1. Your comment here takes me back to my high school days. Although English Lit has always been a strength for me I remember really feeling frustrated at times, as a teenager, having to study the likes of Shakespeare. At that time in one’s life poetry and prose is hardly a subject of great depth and examination. Although…I must say that from a tender young age I always had crushes on certain young ladies in my classes, even way back to Kindergarten when I told my mother I planned to marry the local Police Chief’s daughter! That being said, I was inclined to perk up just a bit when it came to studying Romeo and Juliet!

      How about this one:

      “My bounty is as boundless as the sea,
      My love as deep; the more I give to thee,
      The more I have, for both are infinite.”
      ― William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet

      My, my, my! My dear wife Andrea’s birthday is not too far away…I better stock up on these! Would love great in a birthday card!

      Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

